1st Inter-Ethnic Community Tug Of War Championship On January 30 - Eastern Mirror
Monday, March 04, 2024
Nagaland Sports

1st Inter-Ethnic Community Tug of War Championship on January 30

By Livine Khrozhoh Updated: Jan 22, 2024 6:25 pm
Vekho Swuro (third from left) and others briefing media persons at DDSC Stadium, Dimapur, on Monday.

DIMAPUR — The first Inter-Ethnic Community Tug of War Championship-cum-Ethnic Community Food Festival, will be held on January 30, at DDSC Stadium, Dimapur.

The event, organised by the Western Chakhesang Youth Organisation (WCYO) in collaboration with the Nagaland Tug of War Association (NTWA) on the theme ‘Oneness on the rope for peace,’ will witness 42 community teams including those from the security forces, vying for the championship title.

Addressing media persons at DDSC Stadium on Monday, the president of NTWA, Vekho Swuro said that they are expecting 42 teams for the competition, and if some community cannot participate, then they will also take some interested teams to fill the vacant slots on first come first basis.

Related story: Nagaland Open: 1st Ethnic Community Tug of War to be held in Dimapur

He updated that the initial stages will be on knock out basis (one round) and starting from the semi finals, the matches will be decided on best of three rounds.

There will also be stalls catering ethnic food during event, as well as special appearances from Zt Slingshot and Moko Koza.

He also informed that opportunity will be given to everyone to take photograph with the tallest man in Nagaland Yungan Konyak who is 6.10 ft, by paying INR 100 at the photo booth. Swuro said the proceeds of the photo session will help Yungan to construct his house.

Further, he informed that the game is freestyle and anyone can use their own techniques or styles. They will be using the ropes specified by Tug of War International Federation.

President of WCYO Wekupe Therie informed that the ticket price for donors is INR 1000 and that for common gallery is INR 50.  He also shared that they will provide a stall each to all the communities at a nominal fee of INR 1000. The last day for registration is January 27, and on the same day at 3 pm, they will arrange the fixture at Hotel Saramati, Dimapur with all the participating team managers.

In a team, there will be eight pullers, two substitutes and two team managers and the ultimate winners will receive cash prize of INR 1 lakh.

By Livine Khrozhoh Updated: Jan 22, 2024 6:25:17 pm
Website Design and Website Development by TIS