Thursday, December 02, 2021

18 new FM channels for NE, 15 for JK approved

By EMN Updated: Jan 17, 2015 11:14 pm


The government has approved 18 new FM radio channels for North Eastern states and 15 for Jammu and Kashmir.
Announcing this, the Union Minister for Development of North Eastern Region (DoNER) Jitendra Singh said the initiative was a New Year gift for the eight North Eastern states and Jammu and Kashmir.
In North—East, three channels each will be launched in six towns — Haflong and Dhubri in Assam, Jowai in Meghalaya, Lung—lei in Mizoram, Mokukchung in Nagaland, and Belonia in Tripura. This is in addition to the existing 12 FM channels which are already functional in the Northeast.Of the 15 FM channels to be launched in Jammu & Kashmir, three each will be in Kathua and Bhaderwah. Of the remaining nine channels, three each will be in Kargil, Leh and Poonch.
Singh said the new channels are being launched with the special objective of extending the reach and impact of radio to the border areas where other means of telecast or broadcast are not available.
Radio is still the most easily available and convenient medium of broadcast in such peripheral areas where television telecast is not accessible and the added advantage is that radio broadcast can be tuned even without electricity.
Singh said the government has a special consideration for these states and this is evident from the fact that the cut-off population required for introducing an FM channel has been drastically reduced in case of these border areas. Elaborating, he said while in Phase—II, the cut-off population was minimum 3 lakh, in Phase—III it is proposed to be one lakh. In case of the 33 channels to be launched in border towns or cities of North Eastern states and Jammu and Kashmir, the population cut-off could be further reduced.

By EMN Updated: Jan 17, 2015 11:14:35 pm