Friday, December 03, 2021

10 women footballers from Manipur to attend national camp for Asian Cup

By Sobhapati Samom Updated: Aug 15, 2021 9:20 pm

Our Correspondent
Imphal, Aug. 15 (EMN): In yet another major contribution to Indian sports, ten women footballers from Manipur have been selected to attend the national team camp at Jamshedpur from August 16 for preparation for the AFC Women’s Asian Cup India 2022 — the flagship continental championship, which will be held from January 20 to February 6, 2022.

The women footballers from Manipur are Maibam Linthoingambi Devi (Goalkeeper), Ngangbam Sweety Devi, Hemam Shilky Devi, Ranjana Chanu Sorokhaibam, Wangkhem Linthoingambi Devi, Kritina Devi Thounaojam and Asem Roja Devi (Defenders), Dangmei Grace(Midfield) Heikrujam Daya Devi (Forward).

Manipur Chief Minister N Biren Singh mentioned about the selection during his Independence Day speech at 1st battalion Manipur Rifles in Imphal on Sunday.

Earlier in a social media post, Biren Singh a footballer turned politician also tweeted, “Proud moment for our girls as AIFF has included 10 Manipuri players in the final list for the Senior Women’s National Coaching Camp to be held at Jamshedpur from August 16 in preparation for the forthcoming AFC Women’s Asian Cup 2022. My best wishes to all the participants”.

Another player from Manipur Loitongbam Ashalata Devi, who is presently representing Indian Railways has also been selected for the national team camp at Jamshedpur, as per the sources from All Manipur Football Association.

According to All India Football Federation (AIFF) reports, 2022 will be a huge year for Women’s Football in India as the country will be hosting the FIFA U17 Women’s World Cup from October 11 to 30th, 2022. The FIFA Council had made an announcement in this regard on May 20, 2021.

The Indian women’s football team was ranked 55 in the first update of the FIFA Women’s World Ranking in 2020, according to the report. The team is the reigning champion in the South Asian region — winning all five editions of the SAFF Women’s Championships (2010, 2012, 2014, 2016, 2019), the most recent of which was held in Biratnagar, Nepal where the Indian team defeated the host 3-1 in the final, it added.

By Sobhapati Samom Updated: Aug 15, 2021 9:20:23 pm