Friday, December 02, 2022
Arts and Entertainment

Taylor Swift named woman of the year at the Elle Style Awards

By EMN Updated: Feb 26, 2015 12:50 pm

[dropcap]T[/dropcap]aylor Swift was crowned Woman of the Year at the ELLE Style Awards. The ‘Blank Space’ hitmaker, 24, was presented with the accolade by fellow singer Sam Smith during last night’s ceremony (25.02.15) which was held in the Sky Garden at 20 Fenchurch Street in London.
Also honoured at the 18th annual awards was Rosie Huntington-Whiteley, who picked up Model of the Year, while fellow beauty Cara Delevingne took home the Breakthrough Actress award after swapping the catwalk for the silver screen and starring in ‘Tulip Fever’ and ‘Pan’, which are due out this year.
‘Troy’ star Diane Kruger was named Best Actress, with ‘I’m Not The Only One’ hitmaker Sam Smith taking home Musician of the Year.
Designers Christopher Bailey, Mary Katrantzou, Erdem and Manolo Blahnik were honoured with the Editor’s Choice, Red Carpet Designer, Designer of the Year and Lifetime Achievement Awards respectively.
‘The X Factor’ boss Simon Cowell also took home the Outstanding Contribution to Entertainment award, which was presented to him by Lorraine Candy.
Guests at the star-studded bash – which was hosted by Radio 1 DJ Nick Grimshaw and featured DJ sets from DJ Severino of Horsemeat Disco and Mary Charteris – also included Alexa Chung, Pixie Geldof, Jourdan Dunn, Naomi Campbell, Olivia Wilde, Jennifer Saunders, Jessie Ware, David Gandy, his girlfriend Mollie King and Ellie Goulding.

The ELLE Style Awards winners list:
Woman of the Year: Taylor Swift
Editor’s Choice: Christopher Bailey
Emerging Designer: Ashley Williams
Musician of the Year: Sam Smith
Contemporary Brand: MARC by Marc Jacobs Katie Hillier and Luella Bartley
Model of the Year: Rosie Huntington-Whiteley
TV Actress: Maggie Gyllenhaal
H&M Conscious Award: Lily Cole
Rising Star: Rebel Wilson
Accessories Designer: Stuart Vevers by Coach
Lifetime Achievement Award: Manolo Blahnik
Actor of the Year: Luke Evans
Breakthrough Actress: Cara Delevingne
Red Carpet Designer: Mary Katrantzou
Film Actress: Diane Kruger
Designer of the Year: Erdem
Outstanding Contribution to Entertainment: Simon Cowell

By EMN Updated: Feb 26, 2015 12:50:34 pm