Wednesday, September 28, 2022

Diphu XI lifts Silver Cup T20 Cricket Tournament

By EMN Updated: Nov 23, 2019 10:39 pm
Champions of 10th Silver Cup, Diphu XI posing with the trophy along with the runners-up United CC Jakhama at Jakhama local ground on Saturday, November 23.

Dimapur, Nov. 23 (EMN): Runners-up of the last two editions, Diphu XI on Saturday, November 23 emerged champions of 10th edition of Silver Cup T20 Cricket Tournament at Jakhama local ground, Jakhama in Kohima district.

The tournament, which is recognised by Kohima District Cricket Association, is an annual event organised by the youth department of Nepali Baptist Church on the theme “Peace and Unity through Cricket” under its sports ministry.

Playing a thrilling final match, Diphu XI defeated United CC Jakhama by four wickets.

United CC Jakhama after winning the toss elected to bat first and scored a competitive 125 runs losing three wickets in the allotted 20 overs. Washim scored 53 runs.

Diphu bowlers Raju Ghosh, Vicky, Bittu Das took a wicket each.

In reply, Diphu XI achieved the target in the last ball of the inning losing six wickets. Needing 2 runs off the last ball Diphu XI batsman Bittu Das struck a boundary to lift the trophy. Sarklinso Terang scored highest 31 runs for Diphu XI.

United CC bowlers Shaidul Alam took three wickets supported by Subankar Dey with two wickets.

Bittu was declared the man of the match.

Diphu XI received a cash prize of INR 80,000 with trophy and citation while the runners-up received INR 40,000 with trophy and citation. Semi-finalists: Esa Warriors and Silver Backs received INR 5000 each.

Sourav Dey of United CC received the Player of the Tournament award for scoring 71 runs and taking six wickets in three matches.

Attending the valedictory function as the chief guest, Nagaland Cricket Association (NCA) vice president K Herato Sukhalu encouraged all the players to work hard and excel in cricket.

He also informed that NCA is going to organise an all age level tournament in every district to promote cricket.

He also requested the Silver Cup organisers to promote local talents and create platform for the budding cricketers of the state.

Individual awards

Best batman: Rupan Das of Silver Backs for scoring 124 runs in three matches.

Best bowler: Ram Thakur of Silver Backs for taking nine wickets in three matches.

Best wicketkeeper: Anil Sharma of Diphu XI

By EMN Updated: Nov 23, 2019 10:39:59 pm