Bhajan Lal Sharma To Be New Rajasthan CM - Eastern Mirror
Thursday, April 18, 2024

Bhajan Lal Sharma to be new Rajasthan CM

By PTI Updated: Dec 12, 2023 10:01 pm

JAIPUR — The BJP on Tuesday picked first-time MLA Bhajan Lal Sharma as Rajasthan’s new chief minister, ending days of speculation that followed its victory in the assembly polls.

The surprise choice was announced after BJP MLAs met here and elected the 56-year-old MLA from Sanganer as the leader of its legislature party.

Diya Kumari and Prem Chand Bairwa will be the deputy chief ministers and Vasudev Devnani the speaker of the state assembly, said senior BJP leader Rajnath Singh, who led a team of three party central observers to oversee the meeting.

At the meeting, the CM-designate’s name was proposed by former chief minister Vasundhara Raje, who was herself considered to be in the running for the top post.

Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh-backed Sharma won the Sanganer constituency with a margin of 48,081 votes. He belongs to Bharatpur district.

Sharma, who is at present the BJP’s state general secretary, holds a master’s degree in political science.

Prior to the legislature party meeting, a group photo was taken and Sharma is seen standing in the last row.

Mohan Yadav to take oath as MP CM on Wednesday

Mohan Yadav will take oath as Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh here on Wednesday morning, and the event will be attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah and the chief ministers of BJP-ruled states among others, a party leader said.

Elaborate arrangements are being made for the swearing-in ceremony scheduled to be held at 11.30 am at the Lal Parade Ground here, state BJP chief Vishnu Dutt Sharma and outgoing chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan told reporters after reviewing preparations for the ceremony.

“Prime minister Modi, Union home minister Amit Shah, BJP president J P Nadda, the chief ministers of several BJP-ruled states and central ministers among others will attend the oath-taking ceremony,” Sharma said.

By PTI Updated: Dec 12, 2023 10:01:34 pm
Website Design and Website Development by TIS