29th CWA Wrestling Championship On February 9 In Chozuba - Eastern Mirror
Tuesday, April 16, 2024
Nagaland Sports

29th CWA wrestling championship on February 9 in Chozuba

By Thejoto Nienu Updated: Feb 06, 2024 9:18 pm
29th CWA wrestling championship
(L-R) Kukhoto Venyo, Vekhozo Ringa and Kuzhovesa at Nagaland Olympic Association (NOA) office in Kohima on Tuesday. (EM Images)

KOHIMA — The 29th Wrestling Championship of the Chakhesang Wrestling Association (CWA) and the 3rd Under-16 Meet will be held on February 9 in Chozuba town.

This was announced at a press conference held at the Nagaland Olympic Association (NOA) office in Kohima on Tuesday and addressed by CWA president Vekhozo Ringa, general secretary Kuzhovesa Soho, and press secretary Kukhoto Venyo.

It was also announced that Y Patton, Deputy Chief Minister and in charge of Home and Border Affairs, will be the special guest for the event, while Kudecho Khamo, Advisor for Civil Administration Works Division and Taxes, will be the guest of honour.

The special invitees for the championship will include MLA and Leader of NPF Legislature Party Kuzholuzo Nienu, Advisor for NRE and NSDMA Z Nyusietho Nyuthe, MLA Dr. Neisatuo Mero, president of Sumi Hoho, and president of Pochury Hoho.

Ringa informed that the association has enhanced the prize money this time. The champion will now receive INR 2,50,000 along with the Lt. Chosanyi Rose Memorial Running Championship Belt, INR 20,000, and a citation. The second, third, and fourth position holders will receive INR 1,70,000, INR 1,30,000, and INR 1,00,000, respectively. Quarter-finalists will be awarded INR 15,000 each.

The winner of the Under-16 category will receive INR 50,000. Second, third, and fourth position holders will receive INR 30,000, INR 15,000, and INR 10,000, respectively. Quarter-finalists will receive INR 5,000 each.

The group champion will receive INR 20,000, and the best disciplined team will be awarded INR 10,000.

All constituent units are expected to participate in the championship, with prominent wrestlers such as Venuzo Dawhuo, the reigning champion of NWA, CWA, and the Chokri Area Wrestling Association (CAWA).

Also anticipated are Huluyi D Vadeo, the reigning champion of the 2nd Chakhesang Open Wrestling and Secheku Wrestling Association, as well as the current runners-up of the Hornbill International Wrestling Championship; Kuluvezo Soho, the champion of the Phek Area Wrestling Association (PAWA); and Venü Vadeo, the champion of the Chozuba Range Wrestling Association (CRWA).

Other notable wrestlers include Vemele Thingo, Serayi Tetseo, Rukukhoto Khesoh, Theputha Hesuh, Kuvenu Puro, and others.

Meanwhile, it was also revealed that a new Chakhesang Wrestling Association (CWA) team for the tenure of 2024–2028 will be installed on the occasion, and the selected wrestlers of the CWA for the forthcoming Nagaland Wrestling Association will also be announced.

Other highlights of the championship include the flag hosting and lighting of the torch by the first CWA champion (1968), Pudusa Chizo. Reigning champion Venuzo Dawhuo and U-16 reigning champion Thuputha Hiesuh will serve as the torchbearers.

The association has informed that there will be an official briefing for the referees and management on February 8 at 12 pm. Additionally, a general body meeting is scheduled for February 8 at 2 pm in Chozuba Town. All CWA executive council members and two representatives from each affiliated unit are required to attend the meeting.

The tickets for spectators will be priced at INR 2,000 for donors, which includes complimentary food and a cap. Additionally, there are two categories of chair tickets available: INR 1,300 for special chairs and INR 300 for general seating. Gallery tickets will cost INR 150.

This year, the championship is being hosted by the Chozuba Range Wrestling Association, with the ground being managed by the Chozuba Town Baptist Church. It is expected to attract approximately 18,000 spectators.

By Thejoto Nienu Updated: Feb 06, 2024 9:18:13 pm
Website Design and Website Development by TIS