Vijay Hazare Trophy: Nagaland End As Best Team From NE - Eastern Mirror
Saturday, July 20, 2024

Vijay Hazare Trophy: Nagaland end as best team from NE

By EMN Updated: Oct 18, 2019 1:15 am
Men’s senior team of Nagaland in Deradhun.

Dimapur, Oct. 17 (EMN): Nagaland defeated Manipur by five runs in their plate group league clash at the ongoing men’s senior Vijay Hazare Trophy in Deradhun on Thursday.
An update from joint secretary of Nagaland Cricket Association (NCA), A Rahman informed that with Thursday’s win, Nagaland ended the Vijay Hazare one day tournament for season 2019-20 in the Plate Group with four wins, two losses and three draws. The state stood fourth in the ten-team Plate Group and the best among north-eastern teams with 22 points.

On Thursday, Nagaland put up a total of 240 runs (all out) in 48.2 overs after it was made to bat first by Manipur that won the toss.

Yogesh scored 90 runs for Nagaland, while Temjentoshi scored 39, Stuart Binny – 61, and Jonathan Rongsen – 27. Manipur’s attack was led by Bishworjit with seven wickets, while Rajkumar Rex and Thomas took a wicket each.

Chasing a total of 240, Manipur managed to make only 235 runs for loss of eight wickets in 50 overs. Muhammad Bashid scored a century (100) and Ngariyanbam Singh a half century (50) but failed to reach the target. Priyojit Singh (30 runs) and Pukhrambam Singh (25 runs) were the other main contributors for Manipur.

Stuart Binny, Srikanth and Imliwati took two wickets each while Tahmeed took one for Nagaland.

Vijay Merchant Boys U-16 Trophy
In another update, joint secretary of Nagaland Cricket Association (NCA) A Rahman has informed that Manipur chose to bat first against Nagaland after winning the toss and scored 83 runs (all out) in 35 overs in the first innings at NCA Stadium, Sovima in Dimapur on Thursday.

Somokanta (26 runs) and Thoiba Ningthoujam (25 runs) were the lead scorers for Manipur while Nagaland’s attack was led by Khrievitso Kense with five wickets for 15 runs and Neizekho Rüpreo with three wickets for 18 runs.
Nagaland scored 278 runs for loss of five wickets in 54 overs at stump on day one. The team will resume batting on

Friday in the three-day Test match.
Yugandhar Singh scored 104 runs not out, Sujal Prasad – 19 not out, Yash – 51, Sravan Naga – 27, and Rohan – 44 on day one. Kadamjit took three wickets for Manipur.

Senior Women’s T20
Joint secretary of NCA A Rahman informed in another update that Hyderabad defeated Nagaland by 8 wickets in the Senior Women’s T20 league match in Mumbai.
After being put to bat first, Nagaland scored 97 runs for loss of three wickets 3 in 20 overs with Nazma scoring 61 runs. But Hyderabad chased down the total with ease, scoring 98 runs for loss of two wickets in just 14.1 overs.
Sravanthi Naidu (39 runs) and Mamtha Kanojia (28) were the main contributors for Hyderabad.

Men’s U-19 Vinoo Mankad Trophy
The scheduled match between Nagaland and Chandigarh played at Pondicherry was washed out due to rain.

By EMN Updated: Oct 18, 2019 1:15:15 am
Website Design and Website Development by TIS