Saturday, May 28, 2022
Nagaland Sports

Venuzo Dawhuo crowned Nagaland Wrestling Association champion

By Our Correspondent Updated: Mar 10, 2020 11:11 pm
The new champion of NWA Venuzo Dawhuo (hands raised) with other winners, dignitaries and NWA officials after the competition at the Khuochiezie local ground in Kohima on Tuesday. (EM Images)

Our Correspondent

Kohima, March 10 (EMN): Venuzo Dawhuo from Chakhesang Wrestling Association (CWA) emerged the new champion of the 27th Nagaland Wrestling Association (NWA) Championship after defeating Kezhaseluo-o Pienyü of Angami Sports Association (ASA) in the final bout at Khuochiezie local ground in Kohima on Tuesday evening.

Dawhuo, 24, the reigning champion of Chakhesang Wrestling Championship from Thenyizu village, who stands 5’10 feet tall and weighs 99 kg, bounced after an equaliser to win the championship title against Pienyü (21), who is 6’3 feet in height and 122 kg in weight. 

In the intense final match that took place in front of 30,000 plus strong crowd, Dawhuo took down Pienyü in the first bout  but, Pienyü, the former Angami Wrestling champion from Kohima village, soon gained momentum and defeated Dawhuo in the second bout.

However, Dawhuo came back strong to topple Pienyü in a record time of 42 seconds of the stipulated three-minute final bout to clinch the title.

Winning the match, Dawhuo walked away with a cash prize of INR 5 lakh along with Lt. Velahu Puro Memorial Trophy and a cash prize of INR 30,000 while Pienyü received INR 3 lakh and a citation.

Meanwhile, Vevohü Swuro  (6 feet and 96 kg), who is also from Thenyizu village, knocked down Küneshoyi Zuo  (6 feet and 88 kg) of Suthozu Old village to claim the third position.

Swuro was declared the winner after Zuo was injured during their first bout.

Swuro received INR 1 lakh while Zuo was awarded with a cash prize of INR 80,000 along with citation. Both the wrestlers represented CWA.

The four losing quarterfinalists namely Besuveto Cümu (CWA), Pfusato Tetseo (CWA), Rovilhuolie Pier (ASA) and Keviser Dzüvichü (ASA) received INR 20,000 each while all the participants received INR 3,000. each

Altogether, 54 wrestlers comprising 18 each from Angami, Chakhesang and Zeliang tribes took part in the wrestling extravaganza.

Nagaland Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio, who is also the president of Nagaland Olympic Association, attended the meet as the special guest while MLA Kuzholuzo Nienu unfurled the NWA flag earlier in the day.

The second-day of the competition will feature 36 wrestlers in the junior category (U-16). 12 wrestlers each from Angami, Chakhesang and Zeliang tribes will vie for the title in the competition which will begin from 10am onwards.

By Our Correspondent Updated: Mar 10, 2020 11:11:07 pm