Monday, May 23, 2022

Sukhavi is Sumi chess champion

By EMN Updated: May 19, 2017 10:37 pm

Dimapur, May 19 (EMN): Sukhavi Achumi was declared champion of the 8th Sumi Open Chess Championship, which concluded today at Tourist Lodge, Dimapur. The open chess championship was organised by the Sumi Chess Association from May 17 to 19.
Kughaho Kiho and Hekugha Yepthomi were declared the first and second runners-up. Other winners in the open category were Pikuto H Chishi, Uka Chophy, Henito KIba, Kitolu Achumi, Tokiho Chishi, Yekhevi Sumi and Hito Chishi.
In the Under-17 category, NIpeto Hesso was declared champion, while Pulonito Hesso and Shenikali Hesso, both from Coraggio School, Kohima, were declared the first and second runners-up respectively.
Meanwhile, chess lovers of Dimapur have decided to form the Dimapur District Chess Club. The decision to this effect was taken during a get-together cum meeting of the chess lovers with Hekugha Yepthomi as sessional chairman and Itokhu Achumi as sessional secretary.
It has elected Hekugha Yepthomi as president, SI Toshi and Er. Thrimhokiu Royim as vice presidents, Itokhu Achumi as general secretary, Manish Tiwari as organising secretary, and Akhilesh, Er. Kikheto Sumi and Vizheto Shohe as executive members.

By EMN Updated: May 19, 2017 10:37:30 pm