Tuesday, January 25, 2022

SC Jamir receives Padma Bhushan; Nagaland Chief Minister, others congratulate

By Thejoto Nienu Updated: Nov 08, 2021 8:01 pm
President Ram Nath Kovind presents Padma Bhushan to Dr S.C. Jamir for Public Affairs, at Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi. A veteran political leader and Governor of many states, Dr Jamir is one of the founders of the state of Nagaland. (PTI

Our Correspondent
Kohima, Nov 8 (EMN): P
resident Ram Nath Kovind on Monday presented the Padma Bhushan — India’s third highest civilian award – to former Chief Minister of Nagaland SC Jamir and seven others for their service in public affairs.

The President of India presented Padma awards to 73 individuals — four Padma Vibhushan, eight Padma Bhushan and sixty-one Padma Shri Awards — for the year 2020 on Monday morning at the Civil Investiture Ceremony-I held at Rashtrapati Bhavan, according to a statement issued by the President’s office.

The Padma Vibhushan is awarded for “exceptional and distinguished service”, Padma Bhushan for “distinguished service of high order” and Padma Shri for “distinguished service in any field”.

The veteran Congress leader and former four-time chief minister of Nagaland was conferred with the prestigious award on the occasion of 71st Republic Day in 2020. He also served as the governor of Goa, Maharashtra, Gujarat and Odisha.

He is the lone surviving member of the Naga People’s Convention and a signatory of the 16-point agreement which was signed with the government of India, leading to the creation of Nagaland state in 1963.

Congratulations pour in for Jamir

A host of leaders from Nagaland led by Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio have congratulated Jamir following the award ceremony on Monday.

“Congratulations, Dr. S.C Jamir on being awarded with the Padma Bhushan, the third-highest Civilian Award, for exceptional and distinguished service in the field of Public Affairs. I wish you the very best in all your endeavours,” tweeted Rio.

Deputy CM of Nagaland, Y Patton also tweeted: “Congratulations to Dr. SC Jamir on being conferred the Padma Bhushan Award by the Hon’ble President of India. Grateful to the Government of India under the dynamic leadership of Hon’ble PM Shri Narendra Modi Ji for aptly acknowledging Dr. Jamir’s contributions.”

Other Padma awardees

President Ram Nath Kovind had approved the conferment of 141 Padma awards — seven Padma Vibhushan, 16 Padma Bhushan and 118 Padma Shri – for the year 2020 earlier last year but the ceremonial function, which is usually held around March and April every year, couldn’t be held last year due to the Covid-19 pandemic situation.

Those awarded with Padma Vibhushan were former Union ministers George Fernandes (posthumous), Arun Jaitley (posthumous), Sushma Swaraj (posthumous); Hindustani classical singer Pandit Chhannulal Mishra, former Mauritius Prime Minister Anerood Gugnath and Olympian boxer Mary Kom.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who attended the Padma awards ceremony in Rashtrapati Bhavan on Monday, lauded the awardees from diverse backgrounds for their contributions.

“From the environment to enterprise, agriculture to the arts, science to social service, public administration to cinema…recipients of the Peoples Padma come from diverse backgrounds. I would urge you all to know about each of the awardees and get inspired,” he tweeted.

Meanwhile, as many as 119 Padma awards – seven Padma Vibhushan, 10 Padma Bhushan and 102 Padma Shri – have been conferred for the year 2021.

By Thejoto Nienu Updated: Nov 08, 2021 8:01:03 pm