Saturday, August 20, 2022

NFR plans to provide monumental flag at 41 stations

By EMN Updated: Sep 04, 2019 9:30 pm

Dimapur, Sep. 4 (EMN): The Northeast Frontier Railway (NFR) has decided to install monumental flags (Indian Tricolour) at important stations over the zone.
The chief public relations officer of NFR in an update on Wednesday stated that 100-feet tall monumental flags will be provided at stations located in state capital, district headquarters and having historical/tourist importance. NFR has already installed 100-feet high monumental flags at Guwahati and New Jalpaiguri Railway stations. 39 more stations have been selected for installation of the flags during this current financial year.

NFR has now identified seven stations in Katihar division, four stations in Alipurduar division, 10 stations in Rangiya division, 12 stations in Lumding division, and five stations in Tinsukia division. The important station includes Katihar Jn, Kishanganj, Darjeeling, Purnea Jn, Jogbani, New Coochbehar, Alipurduar Jn, Kokrajhar, New Bongaigaon, Barpeta Road, Goalpara Town, North Lakhimpur, Dekargaon, Naharlagun, Kamakhya, Agartala, Udaipur, Dimapur, Silchar, Karimganj, New Haflong, New Tinsukia Jn, Dibrugarh, and Jorhat Town Railway stations.

The monumental flags are being installed as per directives of the Railway Board for improving the aesthetics of the stations and to impart a sense of nationalism and patriotism in rail users. These locations are selected considering availability of space, good visibility and other safety and security measures added the update.

By EMN Updated: Sep 04, 2019 9:30:36 pm