Thursday, May 26, 2022

Mnp. observes National Press Day

By Our Correspondent Updated: Nov 16, 2018 10:09 pm
Senior Reporter Ratneshowri Goswami of Hueiyen Lanpao daily receiving the state award on best sports reporting from Chief Minister N Biren Singh in Imphal on Friday.

Our Correspondent
Imphal, Nov. 16 (EMN): Manipur Chief Minister N Biren Singh on Friday assured that media persons who are not covered under ‘Ayushman Bharat’ will be incorporated in the Chief Minister Hakshel gi Tengbang, a health scheme having free medical coverage of INR 2 lakh, after discussing in the next Cabinet meeting.
The assurance was given during the National Press Day observation in Imphal. The programme was organised by the department of Information & Public Relations (IPR).
Those registered under Socio Economic Caste Census are eligible to avail benefits under the national health protection scheme.
The chief minister reminded the gathering that during his journalistic career he had received the Best Journalist Award in National Integration and Communal Harmony. He said media persons must be supported and encouraged as the profession is risky, dangerous and full of uncertainty.

Expressing concern over the danger of writing news reports based on photographs without verifying facts, he said that it is a worrisome situation as it demoralize a persons’ dignity and is harmful to the society.
Stating that rules and regulations have been implemented to prevent misuse of media platforms including social media, he said that despite culprits booked under the law, the trend is still continuing.

Lauding the media fraternity of the state for good work, he said the public should be aware about restrictions and censorship in every aspect including social media.
Revenue Minister Karam Shyam appealed the media fraternity to be neutral, un-bias and fair while reporting news. They should reach out to the people with responsibility and sincerity. He further added that he will render all possible help to the media persons as much as possible in the coming days.

As part of the observance, Manipur State Journalists Award was conferred to media persons including an editor in eight different categories.
The award winning reporters are Ratneshowri Goswami (sports reports), Bijoy Laishram(public health & hygiene), Puyam Romeshwar (parliamentary reporting) Ashem Babycha ( women & children), Naorem Gyanand(art & culture)-all from Hueiyen Lampao daily Kshetri Meghajit ( science & technology) of Naharolgi

Thoudang daily, Sagolsem Bigyan(rural reporting) and Editor Aribam Robindro Sharma(national integration & communal harmony) both from Poknapham daily.
A workshop on ‘Journalism Ethics and Challenges in Digital Era’ was also organized with the editor of Imphal Free Press, Pradip Phanjoubam as the moderator.
Director IPR H Balkrisna, Joint Director IPR W Phajatombi Devi, officers & staff of DIPR, eminent media persons and students of State Institute of Journalism and Mass Communication, Manipur University attended the function.

By Our Correspondent Updated: Nov 16, 2018 10:09:43 pm