Tuesday, December 07, 2021
Nagaland Sports

Inter District& Open Badminton C’ship concludes

By EMN Updated: Aug 11, 2013 11:15 pm

Dimapur, August 11

Nagas think of obtaining educational degrees and getting government jobs for sustenance, we think that as a sports person we have no future and survival will be difficult, we have to change this concept, said the Deputy Speaker NLA, Er.Levi Rengma while addressing the closing function of the 37th Inter District & State Open State Championship held at Wokha.

He said that today the richest person, most admired and envied are sports persons and as a sports person one has a bright future and better opportunities as both the State Government and Central government are providing plenty of opportunities and avenues to the sports person by way of financial and material help and job reservation. He therefore urged young boys and girls to avail the opportunity being provided by the government.

Dimapur District team was declared the overall team champion of the 37th Inter District Championship 2013 held at the new indoor stadium, Wokha. Participants from 10 districts and Nagaland Police took part in the championship. The open championship was played in 18 different categories.

Results of team and open championship:


1.         Men’s Champion – Nagaland Police                  Runners Up-Dimapur.

2.         Women’s Champion – Nagaland Police          Runners Up-Dimapur

3.         Junior Boys Champion-Dimapur                       Runners Up-Tuensang

4.         Junior Girls Champion-Dimapur                        Runners Up-Mon


Men’s Single

Champion- Joseph Sumi

Runners Up – Ankur Rai

Mens Doubles

Champion- Joseph Sumi and Raju

Runners up-Moatemjen and Tajen

Women Singles


Runners Up-Bendangnaro

Junior Boys Single

Champion- Taliakum

Runner Up- Moamongba

Junior Boys Doubles

Champion- Salanger and Along

Runner Up- Taliakum and Moamongba

Under 17 Boys Single

Champion- Riku Khape

Runners Up- Medemnochet

Under 17 Boys Doubles

Champion- Imtitemsu and Medemnochet

Runners Up- Temjentoshi and Marnukshi.

Under 17 Girls

Singles Champion- Yashikala

Runner Up- Mepulila

Under 17 Girls Doubles

Champion- Mepulila and Watinaro

Runners Up- Imlikumla and Sorila

Under 15 Boys Singles

Champion- Leihong

Runners Up- Kelengulie

Under 15 Boys Doubles

Champion- Nokpon and hanghuh

Runners Up- Zuren and Nuvezo

Under 13 Boys Singles

Champion- Tiayanger

Runners Up- Vikehietuo

Under 13 Boys Doubles

Champion- Zhakuo K.Seyie and Vikehituo

Runners Up- Tiayanger and Imnasunep

Under 13 Girls Singles

Champion- Easter

Runners Up- Yaom

Under 13 Girls Doubles

Champion- Easter and Chongkai

Runners Up- Vongthunglo and Merenjungla

Veteran 35+

Champion- Amardeep and Tarep

Runners Up- Tajen and Ruguolie

Veteran 45+

Champion- Tarep and Amardeep

Runners Up- N.Wati and Temjen

Veteran 50 +

Champion- N.Wati and Cuzota

Runners Up- Thepuroyo and Ruzhukhrie

By EMN Updated: Aug 11, 2013 11:15:33 pm