Friday, January 21, 2022

Ganesan takes charge as the 17th Governor of Manipur

By Sobhapati Samom Updated: Aug 27, 2021 10:58 pm
The 17th Governor of Manipur, La Ganesan

Our Correspondent
Imphal, Aug. 27 (EMN):
Former Rajya Sabha member and BJP leader from Tamil Nadu, La Ganesan who was appointed as Governor of Manipur on Sunday was sworn in as the 17th Governor of the state at the Durbar hall of Raj Bhavan in Imphal on Friday.

Manipur High court Chief Justice, PV Sanjay Kumar administered the oath of office and secrecy to Ganesan. The State Chief Minister Nongthombam Biren Singh, Deputy Chief Minister Yumnam Joykumar Singh, Speaker of Manipur assembly Y Khemchand Singh, Council of Ministers, state Chief Secretary Dr. Rajesh Kumar, along with other officials and senior citizens were present during the swearing in ceremony.

Speaking to the media, the governor said that he would sincerely work for the welfare of Manipur. He later visited the Indian National Army (INA) memorial at Moirang in Bishnupur district followed by a visit to Shree Shree Govindajee temple, one of the most popular tourist destination in Imphal East district.

By Sobhapati Samom Updated: Aug 27, 2021 10:58:48 pm