Tuesday, December 06, 2022

Dimapur Dons, Kohima Hornbills and Juggernauts register win

By EMN Updated: Jan 12, 2014 10:11 pm

DPL-T20 Cricket Tournament

Dimapur, January 12

In the ongoing DPL-T20 Cricket Tournament, Dimapur Dons won the first match of Sunday after beating United CC by 7 wickets. United CC winning the toss elected to bat but could not handle the pace trio of Amar singh, M Prachi and RS Pundhir of Dimapur Dons and easily lost the plot as wickets fell one after another like nine pins. And to compound the woes of United CC, the lone spinner in the form of their captain, Anupam Sharma who took 2 for 17 runs completely broke their back with his willy bowling. The Dimapur Dons fielders fielded like man possessed as they did not let anything get away from their hand, the only batsman who showed some semblance of batsmanship was Vinod Yadav who scored 29 off 25 balls. United CC could manage just 73 runs for the lost of 9 wickets in 20 overs.
In reply, Dimapur Dons just tear apart the opponent bowling particularly by RS Pundir who smashed 49 runs off 34 balls with 6 boundaries and 2 sixes. Dimapur Dons easily won the match by losing only 3 wickets in 11.2 overs.
RS Pundir was adjudged the man of the match.
In the 2nd match of the day Kohima Hornbills beat Knights CC by 4 wickets. Winning the toss, Knights elected to bat and scored 114/9 in 20 overs. Chandra Babu Singh top scored for the team with 17 runs while Shambhu Shah contributed 16 runs.
For Kohima Hornbills, Babu Deka took 3 wickets giving away only 6 runs.
Chasing 114, Kohima reached the target losing 6 wickets in 17.5 overs with Anga, who was also adjudged the man of the match, top scoring 53 runs off 45 balls with 4 boundaries.
In the 3rd match, The Juggernauts won the match by 8 runs against United CC. Having batted first, The Juggernauts openers gave a solid start with Imomenba who scored 56 runs and Putozo who scored 14 runs. The Juggernauts scored 113/5 in 20 overs.
Chasing the target, United CC did put up a fight but failed to reach the target by 8 runs as they could manage 105/9 in their allotted 20 overs.
Imomenba of The juggernauts who scored a fifty and took 2 wickets for 14 runs in 4 overs was awarded the man of the match.

Today’s matches
Semi finals
1st match:
Time: 8:30 am
Flamingoz Vs Dimapur CC
2nd match
Time: 11:30 am
Dimapur Dons Vs Wiskers CC

By EMN Updated: Jan 12, 2014 10:11:52 pm