Sunday, June 26, 2022

Cricket bash in Kohima from March 25

By EMN Updated: Mar 23, 2015 9:37 pm

Kohima, March 23

Two-week long of highly action packed cricket bash extravagant will hit the state capital Kohima from March 25 till April 12, with the theme –“Bat for unity”.
Initiated and fully sponsored by legislator from 10th Northern Angami Assembly Constituency -1, Khriehu Liezietsu, parliamentary secretary Youth Resources and Sports and NRE, the 2nd 10 Northern Angami-1 T20 Bash 2015 will be played at Kohima Village Ground, organized by Brotherhood Group, Kohima.
Seeing the tremendous response from last year’s tournament, the uptake of the teams have been increase from 13 to 16 teams in this year edition.“A total of 16 teams representing the 16 sectors/colonies under the constituency would be participating in the tournament which carries a cash prize of Rs. 50,000 for the champion team and Rs. 30,000 for the runners-up, both with glittering trophies, besides the individual awards” informed the organizing committee.
The teams have been divided into four pools, in Pool –“A” -defending champion-High School Daredevils, D. Khel United, L. Khel lower Vikings and Rokabozou/Sepfuzou challengers, in Pool-“B”- comprises of teams – P. Khel Eagles, Kenuozou Wolves, Middle Bayavii Lions and Peraciezie Royals, while virtually dubbed a Group of Death- the teams are in Pool “C” are T. Khel Knights, L.Khel Upper Riders, Upper Bayavii Sixers and Lower Bayavii Giants , last year’s runner-up in Pool “D”, which will feature the teams – North Block Warriors, Zienuobadze High Flyers, Mission compound Dukes and Chedema Strikers.
A team will be having a 14 member squad, while a team is allowed to bring in four players within Kohima district to add up to the team. However a team who bring players outside from Kohima to the squad “could attract severe penalty and punishment from organizer”.
All the 16 teams are compulsory to attend the grand inaugural opening ceremony on March 25 at Kohima Village Ground, in their coloured uniforms.
“We are providing free colour uniforms, free refreshment to the players and entry to the venue is free” informed an organizer.
Top teams, meaning the Pool leader from each Pool will proceed to semi-finals, while a win in qualifying match will fetch a team of 3 points, match-washed and Tied will be awarded 1 point each. In case the teams end on equal point- than the Head to Head count will be enforced. However further it ends tie, than the Net Run-Rate rules will be applied.
Since the fixtures had already been drawn, we expect a good cricket bash in all matches till final, said an excited member of technical committee.
Though the final is slated for April 8, the organizer said that it book the ground till April 12, so that the matches from semi-final and final will have a full deserved Match, instead of being washed-out or call-off.
The final –day on April 8 will feature the grand-final match and in evening the ground will boom-boom by musical concert by featuring artists.
16 Teams
Pool-A- High School Daredevils © , D. Khel United, L. Khel lower Vikings and Rokabozou/Sepfuzou challengers.
Pool-B- P. Khel Eagles, Kenuozou Wolves, Middle Bayavii Lions and Peraciezie Royals.
Pool-C-T. Khel Knights, L.Khel Upper Riders, Upper Bayavii Sixers and Lower Bayavii Giants.
Pool –D-North Block Warriors (RU) , Zienuobadze High Flyers, Mission Compound Dukes and Chedema Strikers
Champion – Rs. 50,000, certificate and glittering running trophy
Runner-up -Rs. 30,000 , certificate and running glittering trophy
Man of the Series – Rs.5,000 and certificate
Best Batsmen –Rs.1,000 and certificate
Best Bowler – Rs.1,000 and certificate
Man of the match (Semi-finals and final match) –Rs.1,000 and certificate
Man of the match (In qualifying matches) –Rs. 5,00 and certificate .
Fixture for March 25
(starts at 10 00 am)
1st match – High School Daredevils vs L. Khel lower Vikings
2nd match – P. Khel Eagles vs Peraciezie Royals.

By EMN Updated: Mar 23, 2015 9:37:21 pm