Monday, May 16, 2022

Barak FC, Nagaland Police to clash in grand finale today

By EMN Updated: Sep 05, 2014 9:41 pm

Principal Correspondent

IT is the clash of the former champions for the grand finale of 20th Classic Cup to be played under the theme “Touching lives through football”.
Organized by Classic Club Kohima at Khouchiezie (Local Ground), two time-champions (2009 & 2010) Nagaland Police will clash against 2012 champions Barak FC for the title on Saturday at 2:30 pm with Minister for Rural Development and REPA CL John as the chief guest of the valedictory function.
In the road to the final, Nagaland Police was placed bye in the first round, while they humiliated Kohima Bible College by 7-0 in the second, managed another big win (6-0) against Brotherly Club in the pre-quarters. They blanked New Reserve Youth Organisation (NRYO) 2-0 in the quarter-final while in the semi-final cops came from behind to knock army team – Head Hunters by 3-1.
Players to be watched amongst the cops are: mid-fielder Lipok Jamir (7) who also has to his credit seven goals and also one of the swiftest players in the tourney; striker Sakutemjen (14) as he makes sudden powerful long range attempts into the target and defender Nandai Bonang (8) who does not confine back but also supports the right out and makes some good crosses into the rival danger zone. Disappointingly, one of their players Chinithung (15) will have to sit back in the bench as he was penalized with a red card in the semi-final match.
The former champs are known not only for their dribbling tactics, but they are capable to take up the game in the manner which other side players resorts.
On the other hand, Barak Football Club is an emerging team comprising mostly of youngsters and talented footballers. They have been the champs of Nagaland Premier League and also won 2012 edition of Classic Cup.
In their road to final of this tourney, BFC were also placed bye in the first round; knocked Twenty XI FC Viswema by 2-1 in the second round and overcame Addax Club by 2-0 in the pre-quarters. In the quarter final, they shattered Orion FC by 9-0 while in the semi-final BFC blanked HQ IGAR(N) by 2 goals.
Players to be watched for BFC are: striker and hat-trick scorer Ratobe (10); mid-fielder Nampibo (8) who has a good control and also is swift to surpass the rival defence line while striker Nyinthong Magh (11) is good as play-maker creating scoring opportunities for his colleagues. The defence line strong with rival forward hardly able to surpass Sanyem Salym (2). Disappointingly, here too team captain Tingnyek Konyak (15) will have to sit back in the bench as per Tournament Bye-laws No. 12, which states that a player being penalized with two consecutive matches will have to sit back for the immediate next match. He was penalized with yellow cards in the quarter and semi final matches.
Mention may be made here that the tournament commenced on August 18 with a total of 54 teams from Nagaland and Manipur vying for the title.
Till the semi-finals, a total of 164 goals have been netted with 13 hat-tricks being scored by 10 individuals. Yhunshalo Kemp of New Market is the leading goal scorer with a total of 12 goals (including a double three hat-tricks). A total of 82 yellow cards and two red cards were shown in the tournament.
Meanwhile, the champions of the tournament will receive Rs. 1.50 lakh with trophy and citations while runners-up will get Rs. 70,000 with trophy and citation. Individual awards of the tournament would be also given away.

By EMN Updated: Sep 05, 2014 9:41:16 pm