Thursday, December 08, 2022

74.59% polling in Dimapur

By Mirror Desk Updated: Apr 12, 2019 1:00 am

Eastern Mirror Desk
Dimapur, April 11: Voting in Dimapur for Nagaland’s lone Lok Sabha seat was held peacefully with 74.59% turnout as of 6 pm, according to Lipok Imchen from the National Informatics Centre.

Compared to the previous general elections, most polling stations this time wore deserted looks during the 9-hour window time allotted.

At one of the polling stations, Eastern Mirror caught up with NDPP’s Supu Jamir, who had unsuccessfully contested from Dimapur II assembly constituency during the 13th Nagaland legislative assembly elections in 2018. Jamir expressed confidence in the party’s candidate Tokheho Yepthomi acquiring the seat.

The Indian National Congress’ candidate, KL Chishi who made a brief stopover at the Ghaspani-I assembly constituency in Chumukedima polling station, was optimistic of the United Progressive Alliance government led by the Congress coming back to power in New Delhi.

Chishi remarked that the turnout this election was higher than previous occasions “because people have realised that the state needs change.”

A youth, who had come to cast his vote and did not wish to be named, asserted that the Lok Sabha election would be a showdown between the Congress and the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party.

Again, Ladigarh votes in jungle

The makeshift polling station at Ladigarh in Longleng district.

Polling at Ladigarh under 49-Tamlu assembly constituency in Longleng district—located in the disputed area with Assam—was conducted at a makeshift polling station in the forests of Yonglok village, like in the past.

According to sources, a truck was stationed sideways to the road to prevent traffic and polling took place not at the designated place but at a makeshift station.

Voters of Ladigarh have been facing this problem for years—having to cast their votes in the forest, “out of their jurisdiction.”


By Mirror Desk Updated: Apr 12, 2019 1:00:37 am